Virat Kohli leads Lord’s Cricket Ground list of top 20 players of 2016

After the release of ICC and Cricket Australia’s list of best players of 2016, Lord’s Cricket Ground have followed the trend and selected top 20 players for this calendar year. The ICC may have left Virat Kohli from its list of best players of 2016, but the Mecca of Cricket – Lord’s Cricket Ground – have placed him in the No.1 spot in their list. Three other Indians including R Ashwin, Cheteshwar Pujara, and Ajinkya Rahane have also found themselves into the list. The official YouTube channel of Lord’s posted a minute long video for each player, highlighting their respective performances for the calendar year. Indian Test skipper Virat Kohli bagged was honored with No. 1 spot after experiencing a sensational run in 2016 across all the formats of the game. Virat brought an end to his perfect year with Player of the Series award in the recently concluded Test series with England. Englishman Jonny Bairstow followed the Indian Test captain while ICC No.1 Test bowler Ravichandran Ashwin came in third ahead of Sri Lankan spin wizard Rangana Herath. Another English star, Chris Woakes came in 5th ahead of South African fast-bowling prodigy Kagiso Rabada, Joe Root and Quinton de Kock. Australian speedster Michell Starc was placed 9th ahead of Ben Stokes and Pakistan Test skipper Misbah-ul-Haq. David Warner, meanwhile, was 12th ahead of Indian middle-order batsman Ajinkya Rahane, Australian captain Steve Smith, Yasir Shah and Marlon Samuels. Sri Lankan Kusal Mendis came in 17th ahead of Cheteshwar Pujara, Imran Tahir and Shakib Al Hasan.

Translate »